elected by the people. The ordinary legal limit of duration for each parliament is five years, but by Act of the Imperial Parliament (6-7 Geo. V., c. 19), passed June 1, 1916, and intituled an Act to amend the British North America Act, 1867, the duration of the 12th Parliament of Canada was extended until October 7, 1917. The 12th Parliament was dissolved by proclamation of the Governor General on October 6, 1917, and the 13th Parliament of Canada was elected on December 17, 1917. A Redistribution Act-passed after each census readjusts the number of representatives in the House of Commons in accordance with rules laid down in Section 51 of the British North America Act, 1867, of the Imperial Parliament (30-31 Vict., c. 3). These rules provide that the province of Quebec shall always have a fixed number of 65 members, and that there shall be assigned to each of the other provinces such a number of members as will bear the same proportion to the number of its population (ascertained by the census) as the number 65 bears to the population of Quebec. However, by an amendment to the British North America Act passed by the Imperial Parliament in 1915 (5-6 Geo. V., c. 45), it was enacted that "notwithstanding anything in the said Act, a province shall always be entitled to a number of members in the House of Commons not less than the number of senators representing such province." As a consequence of this amendment the representation of Prince Edward Island has remained at 4 members.

The Senate—The numerical representation of the Senate by provinces is as follows: Prince Edward Island 4, Nova Scotia 10, New Brunswick 10, Quebec 24, Ontario 24, Manitoba 6, Saskatchewan 6, Alberta 6, British Columbia 6. Total 96.

House of Commons.—The representation of the people in the House of Commons has been governed by Acts of the Dominion Parliament passed in 1903, 1904, and 1907 (3 Edw. VII, c. 60; 4 Edw. VII, c. 35; 6-7 Edw. VII, c. 41). The provinces of Saskatchewan and Alberta were created by Acts of the Dominion Parliament passed in 1905 (4-5 Edw. VII, cc. 3 and 42), and after the Northwest Census of 1906 the Representation Act was amended by an Act of April 27, 1907 (7 Edw. VII, c. 41), which gave Saskatchewan ten members and Alberta seven members after the next ensuing election of October The seven additional members thus given to Saskatchewan and Alberta brought the representation of Canada in the House of Commons up to 221. The Representation Act, 1914 (4-5 Geo. V., c. 51), which was assented to on June 12, 1914, came into operation for the election of the 13th Parliament of Canada. An amending Act (5 Geo. V., c. 19), and the Imperial Act 5-6 (Geo. V., c. 45), provide that the House of Commons shall consist of 235 members. distributed by provinces as follows: Prince Edward Island 4, Nova Scotia 16, New Brunswick 11, Quebec 65, Ontario 82, Manitoba 15, Saskatchewan 16, Alberta 12, British Columbia 13 and Yukon Territory 1. Table 1 shows the representation in the House of Commons according to the districts of the Representation Act, 1914, and of the amending Act (5 Geo. V., c. 19).